A DWI Charge Can Put Your Life on Hold
When it comes to DWI in Texas, even a criminal charge alone can derail your life. A single arrest can seriously jeopardize your job, your freedom, and your reputation. If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you can’t afford to delay your defense. Because the penalties for DWI are harsh, you need an attorney who knows how to aggressively defend your rights. Although I believe that no one should get behind the wheel without being completely in control, I also ardently believe that everyone deserves a chance to contest unfair and inaccurate charges. I have the knowledge and experience to help you defend yourself so you can regain your freedom and get on with your life.
You Can Be Charged Without Going over the Legal Limit
Many people mistakenly believe that you can only be arrested if you go over the “legal limit.” Although Texas law sets the DWI threshold at a .08 blood or breath alcohol concentration, police can also arrest you if they determine you are too impaired to drive. This means you can be arrested and charged with DWI regardless of the amount of alcohol in your blood.
It is important to remember, however, that driving with alcohol in your system is not an automatic crime. As long as you’re not impaired, it is not illegal to drive home after a casual drink with friends or a glass of wine at a restaurant. Many people are wrongfully accused and unjustly prosecuted simply for having a little alcohol on their breath. If you have been arrested unfairly, you need a lawyer who can tell your side of the story and protect your rights under the law.
Punishments Are Severe
Because drunk driving causes countless injuries and fatalities each year, lawmakers have created increasingly severe penalties for DWI convictions. First offenders can be fined up to $2,000, sentenced to up to 180 days in jail, and lose their license for up to one year.
Two-time offenders can be fined up to $4,000, spend up to one year in jail, and lose their license for up to two years.
Offenders with three convictions face a $10,000 fine, up to 10 years in prison, and the loss of their license for up to two years. Additionally, whether you’re on your first conviction or your fourth, you must pay an annual license reinstatement fee.
Defending Your DWI Case
If you have been charged with a DWI, there are many ways to defend your case. The truth is, police officers are human beings who sometimes make mistakes. Many arrests take place at night, when eyesight is compromised and perception is often far different than reality. Tired, overworked officers have been known to incorrectly administer field sobriety tests that lead to false arrests. Additionally, faulty equipment and improperly trained technicians can produce inaccurate breathalyzer and blood test results.
Mark Diaz – Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer
When you have been charged with a crime, you need an experienced lawyer who focuses exclusively on defending criminal cases and who will aggressively protect your rights. Throughout my career, I have successfully handled every type of criminal defense case. More importantly, criminal defense is the only thing I do. I have witnessed firsthand how a criminal charge can negatively impact every area of a person’s life. As a lawyer, I consider it a privilege to help people during this stressful time in their lives. Call me today at (409) 515-6170 for a free consultation to discuss your case.